What I’m Reading

Last week, I walked to my local library and asked the librarian for some YA Fantasy book recommendations. I was working on the book that takes place after my forthcoming LGBT fantasy novel, The Sun Dragon, but I needed a break from my own writing to just relax and enjoy a good book. As she named titles and, in response to my blank stare, piled them higher and higher in my arms, I realized that I had been spending far too much time writing my own books and not enough time reading other writer’s works. Therefore, over the next month, I vow to read the following:

1. Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey

I actually finished this one already, and it was wonderful. Not that there was a chance of me not enjoying it, considering it has the word dragon in the title, but add a princess with a dragon claw and I’m hooked.

2. Summer and Bird by Katherine Catmull 

I’m currently halfway through this book, and wow, the language is incredible. Not only are Catmull’s images beautiful and the sisters’ relationship so touching, but the sentences themselves are so well-crafted that any writer could learn a lot from reading them.

3. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima (first in a series)

4. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor (first in a series)

5. Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch by Joseph Delaney (first in a series)

Wish me luck, and let me know what you’re reading!

❤ AJ

Leave a Reply

